Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to working on cars but I figure now is the time to start learning about maintaining a car myself as opposed to taking my car into a dealer. I've been told that Integras (gen 3) should be tuned up at 90,000 miles. I'm just wondering, what exactly does a tune up include? Checking belts, timing, oil, fluids, brakes, etc? Also what tools are needed to perform a basic tune up? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
739 Posts
I might as well tell you this before you get freaked on by tons of people. Go to the search textbox on the left and type in tune up or tune-up, you will find lots of info

The easiest parts of tune up that i did were:

- Change spark plugs and wires
- Change cap and rotor of distributor
- Check all fluids and top them up

and i think there is more like testing the belts and stuff but i dont know about that

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
Tune-ups are easy, but consider this.

If you like to do most of the easier maintenance on your own car (like most of us) letting a professional do your yearly tune up is usually the only time a qualified mechanic has a chance to look over your car and spot any potential problems.

So I personally like to let a pro do it.
Although it's never a bad idea to learn.

So long story short, I don't know dude.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Typically the easiest stuff to do on your own is also the cheapest things to do for the mechanic. If you know what you are doing and love to work on your car its one thing but if you are new to the scene and only know the basics a lot of times its worth the extra $20 bucks to have a professional do it. Not to mention it will save you time. And like Speechless said its the only time a mechanic has a chance to look at your car (preventative maintanence)

·
Registered
527 Posts
browndog2408 on Feb/16/04 said: