Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So today I attempted to rotate my tires because the front tread is wearing out. I took off the lug nuts from the rear right wheel but the rim did not come off. I thought maybe the tire didn't have enough clearance off the floor so I checked it and there were more than 2 inches off the floor. I tried to keep pulling the rim out but it would not move at all. I took a rubber mallet and banged on the inner side of the tire a good bit but that did nothing. I was stumped so I decided to do it another day since it was getting dark. I'm thinking now that my rim is rusted or seized onto the hub? I've had the car for 3 months and this is my first attempt at removing a wheel from the teg. It came from Illinois and Michigan where it snowed a lot and there is a significant amount of rust on the undercarriage. I sprayed some penetrating spray onto the hub but nothing helped. If anyone has any ideas on how I can remove the rim, please do so because I need more traction in the front soon. Thanks.

·
Registered
789 Posts
buddy, you have to give it a good kick or somthin. Rubber mallet, crane kick, judo chop, whatever you prefer. I was hesitant my first time but you gotta knock em on any edge a few times until they fall off. Dont worry you wont hurt anything if you use somthin dull. Just keep at it. my best advice is sit on the ground, aim your foot and fire away at a corner of it and it will go. The further away from the center of the rim you kick it, the more force pulling it away from the rest. Don't be nervous, you wont break anything. Just beat the hell out of it. A metal bat would work good for this purpose, just dont miss

·
Registered
3,654 Posts
kick the living piss out of it, nothing will be damaged. i have had to do this sooooo many times. just beat the hell out of it with your foot, a mallet or something...

·
Registered
6,059 Posts