Team Integra Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1999 LS Integra DC4 B18b1-S4XA
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, first i want to start off with that fact that I am not an expert and i wont pretend to know everything about this car.

I have a 1999 LS integra DC4. Its a b18b1 paired to an S4XA, i bought it a little over a year ago and had the engine rebuilt as well as the transmission. I really enjoy this vehicle and want to keep learning more.

Recently I ordered a mishimoto catch can for the car but ended up returning it because it was too big and I didnt like the quality of the can itself, very cheaply made.
After that I kinda forgot about PCV venting until yesterday I decided to pick up filter breathers and put them on the two PCV vents on the valve cover, they look great. I'm also assuming it is placebo effect but I felt like the car was performing better afterwards.

Later I told my older brother and he stated it "wasnt good for the car" which i was confused about because I thought the whole concept behind installing a PCV catch or breather was so that blow-by vapors which contain oil and vapor wont go into the intake which isnt good for the combustion process. So now I'm more confused, on paper it makes sense to me, why would it be good for these gases to go back into the combustion chamber? It doesnt seem like it would be beneficial in any way but then again i dont know everything.

I want to know if this is good or bad for my engine.

Thank you.:)

·
Registered
21 Posts
@Jdesr , the PCV system pulls the excess pressurized air out of the crankcase via the baffles in the valve cover. Yes, it's better for the environment to recirculate the oily vapor and cook it in the engine, but that can cause soot to form and cake all over your intake track (from manifold to intake valves to piston--I have photos and they're ugly). That hurts performance, responsiveness, mileage, and idle.