Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
739 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a type-r front bumper which is championship white, and my car is frost white so i need to paint it. I am wondering if I should paint my bumper myself or have it professionally done, I painted my own side skirts and moulding. I just have a few questions:

1. should I do it myself or have it professionaly done?

2. if i do it myself since it is white could I just sandoff the clear coat then add primer and then paint it or should i sand all the way down so all the paint is off?

3. is it good to do a job like this with custom mixed paint in spray paint cans or should it be done using a paint gun?

·
Registered
501 Posts
Im no expert, but i figured id just give my opinion....

I'd say if you are comfortable with doing it yourself, then why not?

I saw my car in the "prep" stages of getting it painted and it still looked white even tho it was "primed" and all that...so im guessing on question 2 you don't have to sand it all the way down. (i have no idea tho...just my opinion)

and question 3 i would say a gun... wouldn't that be faster?

·
Registered
1 Posts
I just painted my Daughter's 93 LS Special front bumper Frost White (By the way, it was easier than I thought it would be) and here is what I found:

1. Definitely Spray it with a high qualty spray gun, spraying from a can doesn't give reliable results. I used a lower end HVLP gun and got a little bit of a orange peel texture which I had to wet sand down.
2. Get the right materials from a Automotive paint store locally (don't buy on the Internet). Just give them the color code. Also get the correct method for those materials from the paint store. For example, the primer they sold me had to be sprayed on very lightly on plastic parts otherwise it will cracked when installed on the car.