Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a cheap replacement for the (crappy) OEM head unit in my 1994 LS. The problem is, I have no experience in car audio, and I have absolutely no clue what head unit to buy. There's just too many brands, choices, and options that makes my head spin.

I've decided that I just need something basic that plays MP3 CDs and doesn't look too ugly.

I'm thinking about buying the Aiwa CDC-X504MP from Best Buy for $129.99. Is this a bad choice? Opinions/experiences with this head unit are very welcome.

·
Registered
1,584 Posts
I got a Blaupunkt headunit from Crutchfield. Crutchfield is the best when it comes to car audio or just audio in general. they supply you with proper wiring harness and everything to install it. I have a 94 ls and they even gave me a plastic pice to replace the oem pocket that is right underneath the stock head unit,

·
Registered
3,638 Posts
lildevock on Feb/28/04 said:
I got a Blaupunkt headunit from Crutchfield. Crutchfield is the best when it comes to car audio or just audio in general. they supply you with proper wiring harness and everything to install it. I have a 94 ls and they even gave me a plastic pice to replace the oem pocket that is right underneath the stock head unit,
crutchfield is far from the best, Crutchfield is good for one thing - RAPING you on prices just like Best Buy or Circuit City, you may as well go there...

SoundDomain.com has pretty good prices and a great slelection, although they dont carry some prominent brands which i find odd...

anyway, check the common topics, and do a search, there are countles headunit threads

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm aware of the common topics and I've looked over a number of old posts. However, everyone seems to be interested in mid- to high-end stuff, and I'm just a poor student with a budget.