Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
Well, another $50 out of my teg fund went into maintenance instead of other mods...the front brake pads
but thats alright. I was jsut wondering what is the correct procedure to break in new brake pads to make sure they set in nicely. I have heard about it but wasn't sure entirely since this is my first time dealing with the teg's brake system. Btw the install was a piece of cake. 4 bolts
gotta love Honda.

·
Registered
8,097 Posts
Some people have a very specific way to break in their pads, depending on what pads are being used. I remember I posted awhile ago on how Cobalt suggested I break in my Axxis pads but I can't find the post right now.

But generally for performance pads you do about five 60-5mph slow downs (don't stop) in a row, each time with increasing force until you do it so hard that the ABS activates. Then just drive for about 10 minutes to allow everything to cool down. Depending on what pad you are using they should be good to go after that, if they are a tougher/higher heat pad then you may want to do it a second time after the 10 minute cool down.

·
Registered
879 Posts
Unless they are a performance pad you really dont really break them in. The Carbotech Panther XPs recommended 5 60mph-10mph stops and 5 60mph-0mph, then allow them to cool by a few minutes of non-brake driving.

·
Registered
16,250 Posts
For stock pads, it is recomended not to do any heavy or "panic" braking for 2-300 miles. Especially if the rotors were resurfaced or replaced. Drive moderatly.

If you have performance pads follow the guys above posts.

·
Registered
7,384 Posts
acurasquirrel on Apr/08/04 said:
Unless they are a performance pad you really dont really break them in. The Carbotech Panther XPs recommended 5 60mph-10mph stops and 5 60mph-0mph, then allow them to cool by a few minutes of non-brake driving.