Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got into a front end accident in my 4dr 2001 GS-R with 188k miles. It is looking like it will be totaled. I need advice on what to do with it. I have no experience welding or with body/metal work but am willing to learn, I can't go through a body shop, it will cost too much and at that point it isn't worth fixing it for me personally. So I have a few options, I could try and learn to fix it myself, there is a guy near me with like 20 integras in his backyard I could source the parts from, but the damage extends into the frame, a small portion of it buckled on the left side near where the radiator support goes into the frame, and the radiator support, radiator, and a few hoses are bent back and bowed in along with the support itself being cracked in the middle. The other option is I could buy it back, and I have two paths from there. Sell it as a complete car, or take the engine out and swap it into something else, whether it be a civic or another integra, I'm not sure. I am a teenager willing to do anything new or learn to do something, I am very passionate about cars and pretty devestated my first car ended up like this, and I feel guilty taking another gs-r off of the road, any advice is appreciated, thanks guys.
And If anyone wants to buy it I am in NC.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sell it, get another one. If you're not willing to have a professional due due the body work, then you're just opening yourself up for failure with the safety and the rigidity of the front end.
Do you think I should buy it back and rip the engine out to put into another chassis, or just completely scrap it, it is a B18-C1 so the engine is worth something.

·
Administrator
4,561 Posts
Do you think I should buy it back and rip the engine out to put into another chassis, or just completely scrap it, it is a B18-C1 so the engine is worth something.