Team Integra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
880 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For some reason I notice when I am driving my car normally. I am in 1st.. I drive to about 3500 rpms and switch to 2nd. When I switch to second my car jerks.. What can I be doing wrong. If I floor it it jerks for couple seconds.. then its fine! whats am i doing wrong

·
Super Moderator
25,239 Posts
Letting the clutch out too quickly perhaps? How many miles are on your teg? Could be time for a spark plug change...Are you new to a stick? That could be it, it takes time to master the 1st to 2nd shift...

·
Registered
880 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hrmm I am new to stick.. but I thought i had it down pretty good. I have 130k on car now. Bought it with 129k and everything seem to be ok with car. It just like it started happening to me today.

·
Super Moderator
25,239 Posts
That wouldn't really be a jerk, it would more like a bobbing effect, but if the clutch is out and it's still doing it, then it may be something else.....is this the case?

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
Yeah shifts from 1st to 2nd tend to be the choppiest (even for experienced 5-spd drivers).

Usually nothing more than a timing issue.

I hope that's the case. Hard to say without actually seeing for ourselves.
But if that's the case, just a little practice oughtta soften that up.
You can try shifting at a lower rpm, or as JK suggested - let the clutch out a little slower.

·
Super Moderator
25,239 Posts
JK? I like that

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
Be patient. I've noticed that the INtegra's 2nd gear is a little tall. Maybe slow down your shift a little and be sure to drive so your revs match.

·
Super Moderator
25,239 Posts
Glad it was just that and nothing else...you'll master it like you knew it for your whole life.

·
Registered
6,059 Posts