Team Integra Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 90 ls with a b18a and i think the head gasket is going bad im getting it presure checked today. If it is i was thinking that since im going to have the engine apart i could do a vtec build up i was serching through to articles and i couldnt find anything about it i was wonder what i have to have and do to do this is it as simple as finding and buying a vtec head and tuning it if so what vtec head will fit my engine if not what do i have to do and where can i find the parts im really new to the integra world and i know you can really mess things up if you go half ****ed i appritiate all the help i can get

·
Registered
4,804 Posts
90teg, there is a lot that goes with LS/VTEC. I'm sure some will be for it and some against it. the cost will be rather high. the main thing I can tell you is find a reputable machine shop with experience doing an LS/VTEc conversion. there is a ton of info out there on the internet, and a few TI'ers that have done it too. ( I am currently in the process, but I'm looking for parts)
another term is a Frankenstein motor.
If you want I'll have more to follow

·
Registered
176 Posts
just FYI here's what I've gathered so far and its prices:

B16a complete head $475
CTR cams $600
ITR Pistons w/ rings $350
s.s. oil line kit $120
ITR water pump $75
ITR oil pump $75
ITR timing belt $65
p72 ECU $150
skunk2 cam gears $200
top end gasket kit $170
ls head gasket $65

still need:
p28 JUN/skunk2 chipped ECU: $250
clutch masters stage 3 clutch: $520
prelude 270cc injectors: $120
B&M fuel pump: $150
B&M fuel pressure regulator: $150
Machine shop to install & balance parts: ?

So, I wish it was as easy as "all i need is a B16/B18c head and off I go". It takes a lot of money, but hopefully in the long run, i'll be satisfied...if not then you'll see me posting up my engine for sale. haha

·
Registered
162 Posts