Team Integra Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've been reading articles about exhaust systems and how it is so important to have a peak whp goal before you go out and waste money. unfortunately i purchased a magnaflow 2.25 (not sure really if it's od or id) before i became a member of TI (only because mine broke right after the cat). i'm now looking to buy a header and a high flow cat. from what i've read here i think i like the idea of a 4-2-1 header much better than the 4-1.

my eventual goal is around 180 whp. is this unrealistic with my 2.25 exhaust? should i purchase a header with a 2.5 in. collector? i'm just a newbie to this engine package idea, i've been reading articles trying to further my understanding of what else i can do to get closer to my goal.

·
Registered
31,217 Posts
ZzerozZ on Feb/16/06 said:
from what i've read here i think i like the idea of a 4-2-1 header much better than the 4-1.

my eventual goal is around 180 whp. is this unrealistic with my 2.25 exhaust?

I don't think this site has promoted 4-2-1's as being better. we've promoted hybrid headers which have the 4-1's long primaries or longer primaries but the 4-2-1 layout. there's a difference there.

stock length 4-2-1's aren't automatically "superior" to stock length 4-1's: depends on your powerband location and what you want to trade off. high powerbands with less midrange make 4-1's better if you want to keep the stock length for a header in most cases. the exception I know of is the 2.5 in. toda hybrid 4-2-1 header which has long primaries but stock length.

with longer hybrids that are a mix of 4-1 and 4-2-1 (i.e. longer = you have to cut and shorted your Bpipe to make them fit) , you have less of a trade off.

Most of the 1.8L motors that hit 180 have 2.5 in. collector headers but they also have to have air coming in first.