Team Integra Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need help deciding on which engine I want to put in my car when I get the money. I found a type-r engine swap w/ tranny and ecu for $5,500 and I found a gsr swap for $4,300. Whice engine do you guys think is more bang for the buck? I'm leaning towards the gsr swap because i'm a high school student working w/ money saved for part time jobs. What do you think? btw I drive a 99 ls 5 speed if that helps any. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
25,239 Posts
For the 4 grand that it takes to swap and get the difference of 28 HP, you could EASILY make your current engine faster than a GSR or TypeR.

·
Registered
4,133 Posts
i would go with the gsr-- more modding can be done later because of the lower compression-- it all depends on what you want-- are you going to autox-- then go with the type R and S/c later---
are you going to drag-- go gsr-turbo...
just a street demon and show car--- whatever you like

·
Registered
171 Posts
95gsrturbo on Sep/20/02 said:
i would go with the gsr-- more modding can be done later because of the lower compression-- it all depends on what you want-- are you going to autox-- then go with the type R and S/c later---
are you going to drag-- go gsr-turbo...
just a street demon and show car--- whatever you like
"type R and S/c" I don't think that's the best combination considering he wants the bang for his buck.

If he wanted to go N/A, type-R would be the obvious choice!

·
Registered
4,133 Posts
what do you mean not the best bang for the buck-- adding an S/C would increase hp and torque through out the power band and wound be the best mod considering the money-- you could spend thousands on other stuff or buy an Sc and be done with it-- the itr already has a great 421 header and the snorkel intake is great too the only thing he would HAVE to get would be a better flowing exhaust although aftermarket header and intake would help too--