Team Integra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7,037 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the whole 5spd thing,iv'e been doing it a few weeks now and it seemed like I was driving around fine,but lately ive been noticing a burning smell coming from my car after I shift at some points. Ill shift from 1st at about 4-4.5 rpm and then about the same into third. Today when I was in first my clutch was slipping and wouldnt grab or go past 10 and I was stuck in first, so I didnt know what was going on so I put it in second the car skipped for a second then made quite the loud rev noise and went into gear and then came the familiar smell. I went at a garage today to drop off my friends car to get it inspected and I asked one of the mechanics there why that was happening he told me that I was probably riding the clutch too much. And it's true I do notice my foot kind of loosly sitting on the clutch. Am I frying it? Iv'e only smelled the smell a few times how bad is this for the car in general and how fast will the clutch go? Now I ride the clutch because I dont want to stall out so I let off reaaaly slow in all gears he told me to just shift and just take my foot right off the clutch wouldnt that stall me out or be bad for the car?
Anyone got techniques for not riding the clutch and so I dont stall out? Someone please help me out im scared im hurting my baby.

·
Registered
3,211 Posts