Team Integra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello
i'm not a professional driver and i've never taken nay lessons. i just know how to shift gears for manual transmission. recently i'm really interested in downhill driving.
when i drive downhill, should i try to shifit gear between 5000 to 8000 RPM since it's vtec? any advices?

my car is bone stock with 130k miles

thanks

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
haha "n" you're supposed to roll down in a low gear like second so you don't ware out the brakes as much. unless ur like racing then just drive like normal but watch out cuz ur gonna be going a hell of alot faster!

·
Registered
43 Posts
i live in CA, i believe "coasting" (going down hill in N) is illegal, i have no idea why i know that, or if it's true, its just something i remember from way back when.

i think ur supposed to shift normally but stay lower in gear so that your engine brakes for u (like 3rd will hold u at 60 and 2nd will hold u at 40, depending on the slope) and u dont have to ride your brakes; but feel free to correct me if i'm wrong

·
Registered
565 Posts
RaSeNgan on Sep/27/07 said:
i live in CA, i believe "coasting" (going down hill in N) is illegal, i have no idea why i know that, or if it's true, its just something i remember from way back when.

i think ur supposed to shift normally but stay lower in gear so that your engine brakes for u (like 3rd will hold u at 60 and 2nd will hold u at 40, depending on the slope) and u dont have to ride your brakes; but feel free to correct me if i'm wrong

it is illegal in california to coast in neutral because you are not in complete control of your car and if u need to accelerate for an emergency situation this can make the difference

i agree it is very unlikely that you will need to accelerate to avoid an accident but the risk is still there i suppose

·
Registered
982 Posts