how often you have changed the PCV? - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 754
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Just wondering how often people here change out their PCV.

Since I have owned my Integra aka "Ra", I have only changed it once, back in the spring of 2003.

I bring this up, because I have recently noticed that oil is building up on my PCV.

Thoughts?

There are two types of people in the world. Those who build horsepower and those buy it. Which one are you? '87 Honda Prelude SI...RIP
eaglemhf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 03:16 PM
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21,509
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
I have changed mine exactly 0 times.

Ever. on any of my tegs.
MeltMan is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: L-Town, KS
Posts: 2,115
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
The only time I've ever changed mine is when I pulled my motor out and lost one...

89 Supra Turbo ~~~~ 500rwhp (sold) 00 Integra GSR (work in progress)
00geezer00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 754
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Yeah but you two have a car that is 5 years "newer" than mine... mmm...
eaglemhf is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Beaver County, PA
Posts: 207
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
never needed to replace one on a civic/integra. i have had two tegs.
95GSRJohn is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 158
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have had 3 tegs and also have never done it.

Acura Integra Type-R 98-1025
Integra2001GSR is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Beer Me, PA
Posts: 3,443
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine broke and I never replaced it... but I have a custom PCV system I built.

2001 GSR Turbo - RACE
2008 Subaru STI - DD
SRH_Integra is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 467
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
replaced about a month ago only becuase it didnt pass the 'rattle' test. like $5 which is gay cuz its just a plastic valve

Before you fill your garage, fill your library. Xbox LIVE gamertag: Fox Collywobles
Deek_Russ is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 05:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 43
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
So you say you notice oil buildup... can we assume that you can remove it to see the gunk? If so just replace it, the plastic gets brittle over time. If you haven't got it out I say LEAVE IT ALoNE!!! I replaced mine once, what a pain in the A-S-S ! Reason was that it was the original but it cracked. 45 bucks total for the replacement hoses from an Acura dealer and the valve. Good thing though the hose to the breather was shot anyway.
johnnykaye is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 344
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnykaye on Dec/11/08
So you say you notice oil buildup... can we assume that you can remove it to see the gunk? If so just replace it, the plastic gets brittle over time. If you haven't got it out I say LEAVE IT ALoNE!!! I replaced mine once, what a pain in the A-S-S ! Reason was that it was the original but it cracked. 45 bucks total for the replacement hoses from an Acura dealer and the valve. Good thing though the hose to the breather was shot anyway.
My god! $45 to replace it? Pain in the ass? I typicly replace mine every time i do a tune up. Around $3- and if you need a hose goto Advance Auto and pick one up for $1 or so. Takes me all of 15-30 Seconds to do...
soundguy787 is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 05:54 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Minot , ND
Posts: 9,126
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
never even touched it.
97lsteggy is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 06:09 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: , TX
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
NEVER!! just put to your mouth and blow adn suck, its a one way valve, it you can blow and suck its bad.
themazdak is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , KS
Posts: 921
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
believe it or not the PCV valve is a Major cause of driveability problems, i replace mine when i change my spark plugs/wires/car/rotor to be safe. only time i "Had" to replace mine was when it broke, and it cost about 7 dollars for a new hose and valve... not 45 lol that's where it pays to know about cars and "steelers"

~Dillon

From Acura, To Infinity, Than Subaru... FWD
topcitylsteg is offline  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 12-11-2008, 06:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Eastern, PA
Posts: 22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundguy787 on Dec/11/08
Quote: johnnykaye on Dec/11/08So you say you notice oil buildup... can we assume that you can remove it to see the gunk? If so just replace it, the plastic gets brittle over time. If you haven't got it out I say LEAVE IT ALoNE!!! I replaced mine once, what a pain in the A-S-S ! Reason was that it was the original but it cracked. 45 bucks total for the replacement hoses from an Acura dealer and the valve. Good thing though the hose to the breather was shot anyway.


My god! $45 to replace it? Pain in the ass? I typicly replace mine every time i do a tune up. Around $3- and if you need a hose goto Advance Auto and pick one up for $1 or so. Takes me all of 15-30 Seconds to do...
very different changing it on a G2 vs G3, in my opinion. G2 was a huge pain, G3, very easy.

to answer the original question, I've done it once each on 2 tegs covering 10 years.

jjbuzz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome