B20 to LS tuning solutions - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By mutt8588
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
B20 to LS tuning solutions

Hola TI! Swapping a B20 into my obd0 integra with fuel management questions. I've been getting a lot of "use the stock ls ecu, .2 liters more won't hurt anything" or "get a tune".

Anyone have any personal solutions on the b20? (It willl be all motor... and non vtec )

I've been thinking about using a fpr and guage and adjusting accordingly... or going a step further and going chipped obd1 with b20 basemap (by Phearable) with a wideband to varify basemap accuracy and maybe adjusting with fpr. Overkill? Yeah, but I need it to take some autox abuse... just trying to keep it safe

Feedback?

Boostpyro90 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 09:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 10,390
Articles: 11
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
s300... tuning NA is so easy with s300. Hopefully i can say the same when I go turbo, soon.

[b]- WTB G2 hood cable, G3 billet ps, alt, & ac pulley - My running log - My FS thread: NGK, Hub ring, G2 Neuspeed 4pts, etc.
codenamezero is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
mutt8588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: lowballin', FL
Posts: 4,785
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
i know for a fact (ive had multiple friends run b20s, and read a dozen or more threads w b20s) that the ls ecu will run perfectly fine on the b20, the stock tunes are naturally rich, so the .2l does not affect the tune negatively at all, i also say this as someone having just purchased a b20 block, though my build will require alot of tuning so a chipped ecu is what im using, if you really really worry about it and want to be tuned, go for it, youll gain some power at the expense of an ecu, a socket, a chip and the cost of a tune

JDM from the womb to the tomb

echelonwarrior: i love how you just go down the highway at 100 sticking out of the sunroof shirtless

Every time matt works on my car he hands me a few bolts and tells me "here, you didnt need these" and sometimes his clutch foot doesnt work properly

Mutt's Log
mutt8588 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 10,390
Articles: 11
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
He is asking about tuning, is not really "tuning" if he just throw in a stock b18 ECU or some random b20 basemap... if you are seriously going to tune it, then get something decent and tune it. Honestly, I've been playing with my stock B18B with 550cc injector, and i got 8.5L/100km easy even when i floor that shit occasionally (just as good mpg as my Honda Fit!! granted, my automatic Fit's mpg is shit... T_T), it pulls all the way to redline smoothly.
codenamezero is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutt8588 View Post
i know for a fact (ive had multiple friends run b20s, and read a dozen or more threads w b20s) that the ls ecu will run perfectly fine on the b20, the stock tunes are naturally rich, so the .2l does not affect the tune negatively at all, i also say this as someone having just purchased a b20 block, though my build will require alot of tuning so a chipped ecu is what im using, if you really really worry about it and want to be tuned, go for it, youll gain some power at the expense of an ecu, a socket, a chip and the cost of a tune
Good info!! Now my question here, is the mapping different between the PR4 and the P75? Would the versatility be the same for the B20?

Id love to keep stock obd0, because... I already have it! But I just want it to be safe. Sounds like the PR4 would be safer than a basemapped chipped ecu. Maybe just stock PR4 with a fpr? Ultimately I want the power advantage over the ls and for it to take a beating safely. The "hidden" power from a tune isn't a main concern of mine at this point.
Boostpyro90 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
mutt8588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: lowballin', FL
Posts: 4,785
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
ill be honest im not sure of the difference in the ecus themselves, but the limited knowledge i have would tell me to run the obd0 ecu/whatever ls ecu is easiest to fit into your car, because my understanding of the ls motors is that there is very little difference in the ecus that go w them, someone with more ecu knowledge can surely help you though, worst to worst, get that ecu chipped and get a basemap, but i think youre fine w that ls ecu
ex-jeeper likes this.
mutt8588 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 10,390
Articles: 11
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Doesn't really matter if you get a real EMS, just load a stock map (whether it is b18b or b20, just don't load a p72 map because the timing table is not ideal for non-vtec motor) then just play with the fuel table. The point of getting an EMS is not just to load a map, is to tune it, so either way, you need to tune it.

I believe you could convert your obd0 to odb1 fairly easily if you want... so all of your wiring in the engine bay should stay the same.
codenamezero is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah obd1 conversion would pretty much be a jumper harness, obd1 dizzy, and P75 ecu.

I'm honestly not too familiar with many tuning shops in my area so if I could stay obd0 and adjust fuel via fpr on the ls ecu, that would be nice. I just don't know enough about tuning or datalogging myself... plus I've come to understand that's more pricey than having someone tune it for you. ...I dunno, I'm too behind on the times!
Boostpyro90 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 12:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 554
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
The easy way to tell if you the obd0 pr4 ecu tune is on par is add a wideband once you have your b20. Then drive around and do some logging to see where you afr's land.

-Old Wise One-
SunnyJay is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-2011, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 242
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
if your b20 has stock internals, it's not cost effective to pay for a TUNE.

Thefore, it's not cost effective to pay to convert to OBD1
Cost is going to be $80 for used dist, $70 for ebay jumper harness, $10 to junkyard to cut off obd1 engine harness dist plugs, $70 for new 4wire o2, $60 for P06 + $30-50 to have someone chip it for you.

it does up up costy a good amount.


Think about this, you won't see a b20 blow up due to running on stock LS fuel maps.
Sure you make a few ponies if it was tuned but you have to decide what your willing to except for "cost efficeny" for your car.

Charlie
leclue19 is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome