B16 Head Plug? - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2013, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooksville, Florida
Posts: 538
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
B16 Head Plug?

I am trying to finish piecing this engine together and get it running. This is a B16 head on my B18C block. Can anyone tell me what that open threaded hole is in the middle of the picture, to the left of the dizzy??? Do I just plug it? I can't find it on any dealership's website :-(
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130918_190545.jpg
Views:	1061
Size:	188.9 KB
ID:	16602  
NIKADEM0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sudbury Ontario Canada
Posts: 88
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to highteck
That looks like the hole for the oil line to go to for the vtec head (could be wrong though)
highteck is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
BlueB16GSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: , PA
Posts: 552
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
You need to tap VTEC heads with an AN fitting to run the oil from the sandwich plate. Not sure if it's necessary with a VTEC block though.


Last edited by BlueB16GSR; 10-11-2013 at 03:12 PM.
BlueB16GSR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 03:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sudbury Ontario Canada
Posts: 88
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to highteck
I dont think it is either, my b16a gen1 head(doing lsv b18b1 bottom b16a top) has the same hole with plug, just took it out to see where it goes and it does look like it runs up to the oiling bars on top of the cams, I'm pretty sure only b18/b20 vtec heads need to have the hole manually tapped into hence why the vtec conversion kit comes with the tapper to make the hole, correct me if i'm wrong though
highteck is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 4,563
Feedback Score: 37 reviews
For a B18C block, you can just plug that hole shut. BUT, please check lower surface of the head to see if the oil return port has been plugged. If there is a plug down there, remove it, then cap the other hole. If the plug cannot be removed, you'll have to run a VTEC conversion kit as shown above.

- 1996 Integra SE 598WHP 33 PSI 101 Octane - RedZoneRace tuned
- 1994 Civic VX 342WHP 15 PSI 91 Octane - W1ckedOne/DNR tuned
- 2006 Tacoma TRD Sport ???WHP 8 PSI TRD Supercharged
DC4KiD is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
BlueB16GSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: , PA
Posts: 552
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC4KiD View Post
For a B18C block, you can just plug that hole shut. BUT, please check lower surface of the head to see if the oil return port has been plugged. If there is a plug down there, remove it, then cap the other hole. If the plug cannot be removed, you'll have to run a VTEC conversion kit as shown above.
If the head was used for an ls/vtec, the internal oil passage was more than likely plugged.



Ignore the two dowels, the plug you are looking for is at the bottom left
BlueB16GSR is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 12:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 4,563
Feedback Score: 37 reviews
Exactly my point.
DC4KiD is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 07:38 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueB16GSR View Post
If the head was used for an ls/vtec, the internal oil passage was more than likely plugged.



Ignore the two dowels, the plug you are looking for is at the bottom left

Hi if this oil gallery plug was in place would any oil get to the head rocker assembly? kind regards James
James Dunkley is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome