My quest to have a good daily driver begins - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-07-2017, 01:49 PM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My quest to have a good daily driver begins

Hello everyone,

My name is Mat (you can call me Ash, Mathew, Mat. Up to you) and I have just bought a 1995 Integra LS automatic. The vehicle is entirely stock inside and out. It has 260k miles and, with that considered, the thing drives really well.

Before I get any further info detail on the car and my plans for it, I'll give you a little background on me. I have very little mechanic experience, in fact almost, but I have a little knowledge of Honda/Honda motors and I am a quick learner who is very good at researching things on the Internet. I have a few friends who are rather experienced mechanics including two professional mechanics, one of which just graduated from an automotive engineering program with a 4.2 GPA. Enough about me back to the car.

As I was saying, for having 260k miles on it the integra drives infinitely better than expected but:

1. It burns oil. I can especially smell it when I turn the heat on but the car only smokes a slight bit when it's cold. Once warm it doesn't appear to smoke. Not sure if it's the rings, head gasket, or both.

2. The thermostat just went out and I have a theory that the radiator has a pinhole leak on top of that.

3.it's an automatic and a B series manual transmission is just not in my price range at the moment

4. I have a d16y8 motor/trans I purchased in a 97 or 98 civic ex a while ago. The civic is fully drivable but the rear windshield was shattered by hail and the front windshield is one stiff breeze away from shattering itself. Replacement costs would be around the same price as I paid for the Integra and I love the integra body style.