Rod knocking what should I do? - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2004, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

should i replace the motor, or should i just get all new rods and bearings and replace them if i replace the rods could i get itr rods and pistons or b16 rods and pistons and put them in, im kinda new at this so can someone please help me out
spoonpwrdteggy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-08-2004, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 1 reviews

what kind of engine do you have?
AutobotzGSR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2004, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 23 reviews

His profile says a 92 GS, so im pretty sure its safe to say he has a b18a
95integraLS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2004, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)

Model: GS
Year: 1998
Feedback Score: 3 reviews

tear your motor done and see if it can be bored/honed, if it can, rebuild it, if it cant replace it.
Old 12-08-2004, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)

Articles: 4
Feedback Score: 8 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneeedle on Dec/08/04
tear your motor done and see if it can be bored/honed, if it can, rebuild it, if it cant replace it.
Wow, it sounds soooo simple! J/K

Tyler are you 100% sure you hear a rod knocking?
If so you can replace the Bearings without taking out the engine, but is is a MAJOR project. If you go to www.helminc.com you can order the shop manual. DO NOT try to replace bearings without it! if it your main bearings, you'll have to pull the crank out, and that means pulling the motor out as well.