Automatic Transmission Oil fluid Change - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clermont to ucf, FL
Posts: 357
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok everybody, there isnt much help with the auto transmission oil change. So i decided to put some pics and some help for novices like me. I used those 1/2 torque bars since my regular small one wouldnt turn the bolt. I used honda ATF, run me around 16-17 bucks for 4 quarts. Here are the pics:

You can see the torque bar i used, i think its with the 3/8 extention piece that goes in to the drain plug. You have to jack up the front passenger side to get access to this area, you do not need to take off the tire.


Picture of dipstick, which i loosened to clear any vacuum build up.


Following 2 pictures of the plug removed



Picture of the plug cleaned. Make sure you clean the plug since it may have alot of metal filings. I cleaned it up, as no more ATF drained out, i put it back on.


Put NEW ATF fluid the nice PINK stuff, checked dipstick and was good to go!

kenadian07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 01:40 PM
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21,507
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
How did the transmission act afterwards? Smoother? Quicker?

I've been needing to do this to mine for quite some time.
MeltMan is offline  
post #3 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clermont to ucf, FL
Posts: 357
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No difference felt. May be a little better shifting thats about it. I guess changing ATF fluid is a good preventative issue rather than putting in a new transmission.
kenadian07 is offline  
post #4 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 03 TL-TypeS, NY
Posts: 16,250
Articles: 2
Feedback Score: 57 reviews
Good write up. A few members have asked about this.
Furious05 is offline  
post #5 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Burn, MD
Posts: 1,086
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Yes very good write up you need to do this about every 10,000-15,000 miles depending on how hard you drive it. Very nice article.

RIP '96 INTEGRA 2DR LSVTEC JRSC LEVEL TEN STAGE 3 AUTO TRANNY. IT'S TIME TO BRING THE FRANKENSTEIN BACK FROM THE DEAD MUHAHAHAHAH.
chrgd_ls_vtec is offline  
post #6 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: , CO
Posts: 304
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
nice pics! changing the ATF is very easy and is a really really good thing to do to our Honda automatics. changing the fluid resulted in noticably smoother shifting and just overall better performance on my 94 Integra with 150k miles. (when I started autox racing it I changed it more frequently.)

a few more tips:
-only use genuine Honda ATF. it has special additives that these transmissions need to last. $12-20 for the fluid is well worth it.
-get a funnel with a 18"? hose *before* you do this, that's the only way to get new fluid down to the dipstick hole!
-also use a new crush washer for the drain plug, torque it properly, and check for leaks afterwards.
-after you put the new fluid in, start the car and slowly shift through the gears. maybe drive around the block. then check the fluid level again.
-remember that the torque converter retains about a quart of fluid, and there will probably be some left in the radiator. so don't think you're getting a complete flush with a simple fluid change. I'd change it more frequently because of that, especially on older cars.. probably once a year I'd say.

Rocky Mountain region SCCA Autocross and Time Trials dude RIP 94 DB8!
tegtronic is offline  
post #7 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-27-2004, 02:14 PM
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21,507
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
eek

I'm about 50,000 miles over due.
MeltMan is offline  
post #8 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clermont to ucf, FL
Posts: 357
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
this is easier than replacing engine oil, cause with engine oil you have to mess with a filter. This was damn easy with a torque bar. Just make sure you have a long neck funnel. Better than paying someone big bucks to keep in cheap oil.
kenadian07 is offline  
post #9 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 1,223
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
good write up, also what tegtronic added is good too....i did those same procedures on my old accord after i had a problem w/it slipping out of gear......it was really easy, and after i did that, everything was fine and it ran really smooth. i guess i just had some old fluid! lol

intentionally left blank.
sabotage is offline  
post #10 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 3,030
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
do people use the redline or some of the other stuff?
jgold47 is offline  
post #11 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: County, FL
Posts: 33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exactly where would the drain plug be? It might sound stupid but what exactly is the purpose of using a torque wrench over a socket?
Dakid084 is offline  
post #12 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 7,037
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Not to burst your bubble..but doing this is pointless.. you don't even get half of the fluid in the auto trannies out. Most of the fluid remains in the torque convertor, this is why they have automatic trans flush machines at shops. Hence also why you dont do a flush on a manual. Sorry to be the asshole here but someone had to say it.
Shadowhunter is offline  
post #13 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 209
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A torque wrench is pretty much pointless when taking off a bolt. It will act just like any other wrench, except that you can only put a certain amount of pressure on it. However, when you are putting the bolt back on and you need to tighten it to certain torque specs, you can set the wrench to click when it reaches a certain tightness. So then you can torque bolts to match the factory specs, which is a big deal for certain bolts in key engine parts.
PredatorGSR is offline  
post #14 of 62 (permalink) Old 11-28-2004, 05:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: County, FL
Posts: 33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanx but in regards to shadowhunters comments, how exactly is it done at the shop? They use a machine to flush it?
Dakid084 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome