Obd2 and ECU issues - Page 2 - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So, I need to get the p72-a05, right?
camerartus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 04:07 PM
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 42,852
Articles: 75
Garage
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Ick, it probably is not going to be as easy as "slap an ODBII ECU in there to pass".. your car may have modifications to it making the swap necessary..

for instance, I had to go to ODBI because my header only has one O2 sensor spot (+ i needed a tune), I can't throw an II in my car and expect the car to even run (never mind other mods on my car)
MorningZ is offline  
post #17 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's a problem in Texas.
Also, I thought the "01" Heard to the car being a five speed manual.
camerartus is offline  
 
post #18 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This also confuses me.
How else can you tell if you have the correct ECU?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1439251999450.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	150.9 KB
ID:	52138  
camerartus is offline  
post #19 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also, The wiring harness I have is different from the one that was pictured earlier on this thread. I'll upload a photo shortly.
camerartus is offline  
post #20 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where is the one that I have on my car.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1439252771923.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	52146  
camerartus is offline  
post #21 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I meant, that is the one I have on my car.
camerartus is offline  
post #22 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
jjkz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 3,206
Garage
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
It's obvious in your pic that you have a conversion harness. The harness are the red connectors, with black wires leading out of it.

You've been told what to look for, you uploaded a pic confirming an OBD1 ECU. I'm not sure why there's doubt. @MorningZ and others have explained as much as possible, what you have.





770whp/500wtq @31psi E85


2013 Carlisle P&S 1st Place Acura Integra Class Winner
2011 Carlisle P&S 1st Place Acura Integra Class Winner

2010 Carlisle P&S 1st Place Acura Class Winner
2009 Carlisle P&S 2nd Place Acura Class Winner
2007 Tuner-Evolution 1st Place Acura Class Winner



Click Me: Check Out My Build Thread - From Stock to 770WHP
jjkz24 is offline  
post #23 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 10:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The pic I uploaded was different from the one that I was originally shown. I didn't know that red always meant conversion harness.
camerartus is offline  
post #24 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also, I uploaded a link showing that a P72-A01 is a model number that is the same for GSR with a five speed over drive, whether it's an OBD1, or an OBD2 ECU. Honda used that same model number for both.
camerartus is offline  
post #25 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 10:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
"five speed manual drive"
camerartus is offline  
post #26 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
See attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1439260655913.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	150.9 KB
ID:	52250  
camerartus is offline  
post #27 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-10-2015, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jjkz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 3,206
Garage
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Red does NOT always mean a conversion harness. That just happens to be the color of yours. You have an OBD1 ecu. That is why your OBD port does not communicate. Question answered.
jjkz24 is offline  
post #28 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-11-2015, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 2,094
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by camerartus View Post
So, I need to get the p72-a05, right?
From Hondata:

All Honda ECUs have a part number which is located on the side of the ECU and inside the ECU on the connector. e.g. 37820-P72-A01
The part number consists of three components:
  • Honda's part number for ECU, which is always 37820
  • Three characters (which are loosely related to the model of car/engine). e.g P72
  • Three characters (which are the revision of the ECU) e.g. A01 or G52
The middle three characters are the most useful to identify what the ECU is. Different generation ECUs may use the same characters. e.g. a P72 OBD I ECU is different from a P72 OBD II ECU. Here is a list of common ECUs:
The last 3 characters are broken down into 3 parts. "A" generally is used for US ECUs. "G" is European, and "J" is Japanese. There are other versions of this, but you get the idea. The second digit "0" typically means manual transmission, where a "5" means automatic transmission, and the last digit "1" is the version number.


If you are automatic, sure. Otherwise you will need manual. If your car is 00-01 it will be the OBD2B variant.
migee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome