Factory Power Antenna Wire Colors - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2009, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: , MN
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'm trying to figure out what these wires are off of my factory power antenna. I have 3 wires a solid black, yellow/green & white/red it has a plug at the end of all these wires. I know one is the ground one is the switch power from radio and one turns on when car is on. Car is 1994 its missing the wires that normally would connect to the other side of the plug.

Thanks guys!
ionic_rs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2009, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Real Name: Stephen
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Model: SSBP GSR
Year: 1999
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Articles: 75
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

Black = ground
White/Red = Power
Yel/Grn = wire from the radio telling it to go up/down
__________________
.



- Running Log, the trials and tribulations of building a car

echlonwarrior: "Hondabond saves lives"
K2sInteg98: "the best thing to do is keep spending and not keep count....lol"
sgtmillhouse648: "VTAKS- just like boost with none of the lag...and none of the torque...and none of the boost"
MorningZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2009, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: , MN
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks morningz that was quick!
ionic_rs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2009, 03:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Real Name: marcus
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Simcoe County, ONTARIO
Model: RS Special Edition
Year: 2001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I also have a broken antenna but i dont mind it up all the time. its the grinding noise. im not sure but is it right if i take the grn/yellow that runs down the drivers side cut it and mount it up to a switch in my center console it will keep it up if i have it off? or to replace the motor in the future and be able to keep it down?

thanks
BigMink is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2009, 10:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Real Name: Stephen
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Model: SSBP GSR
Year: 1999
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Articles: 75
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

Grinding noise = broken teeth on the mast usually

Whatever position you want it to stay in, just get it to that position and unlug the 3 wire plug that ionic_rs was asking about
MorningZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Real Name: marcus
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Simcoe County, ONTARIO
Model: RS Special Edition
Year: 2001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

all fixed, just took off some panels at the back and cut the yellow antenna wire, reset radio with the security code and im all set. untill i get around to buying a new motor for it, which is 64.99 cdn . then i suppose ill just run the cut wire to a switch in the center console. thanks stephen for the wire colors really made it easy. took me 15 mins total and its great now
BigMink is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
2kdc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: , WA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 21 reviews
Default

I'm going to wire up a swtich to manually control my antenna. I know that I must cut the yellow/green wire, but where are the three locations specifically? I was planning to make the cut at the radio harness.
__________________
FS: Blox Short shifter
2kdc2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 04:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Real Name: marcus
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Simcoe County, ONTARIO
Model: RS Special Edition
Year: 2001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kdc2 on Sep/09/09
I'm going to wire up a swtich to manually control my antenna. I know that I must cut the yellow/green wire, but where are the three locations specifically? I was planning to make the cut at the radio harness.
where i cut mine is at the back directly beside the antenna motor. all three are in one bunch and are easy to see and cut. i would simply cut it from there and run it under the carpet through the back behind the seats and up to the center console. its very easy, simply extend the wires to a switch which should be a 30 amp 12vdc(any electronics store should have). it should have three spots for wires. two on the bottom are for either end of the grn/yellow wire. the other is for a ground which you can add on to the third spot. simply run the ground to the bolt directly below the e-brake and mount it in the center console in the slots beside the e-brake.

hope that helped a bit. id be more than happy to rip mine back apart and take the pics if you are unsure of anything. just lmk it takes like 2 mins
BigMink is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Real Name: Stephen
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Model: SSBP GSR
Year: 1999
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Articles: 75
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kdc2 on Sep/09/09
I'm going to wire up a swtich to manually control my antenna. I know that I must cut the yellow/green wire, but where are the three locations specifically? I was planning to make the cut at the radio harness.
That's the easiest place to catch it....

It is in the driver door sill wire harness as well, which is easier to get to, but harder to find the exact wire (because there are a few yellow/green, like for the fuel pump)

if you choose the door sill.. make sure you have a volt meter handy to make sure that you have the correct wire, which with the radio off shows 0 volts, with the radio on shows 12 volts.. and MAKE SURE you aren't using the key to turn the radio on/off (use's it power knob/switch/button), because otherwise the fuel pump wire will display the same behavior
MorningZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 04:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Real Name: Casey
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: The 'L' train
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MorningZ on Sep/03/09
Black = ground
White/Red = Power
Yel/Grn = wire from the radio telling it to go up/down
More specifically:
Black = ground
white/red = +12 constant
yel/grn = +12 when radio is on, 0 when off.
MeltMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 05:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
stealthpenguin's Avatar
 
Real Name: Ben
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CA
Model: DC2 & DB7
Year: 1994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MorningZ on Sep/09/09
Quote: 2kdc2 on Sep/09/09I'm going to wire up a swtich to manually control my antenna. I know that I must cut the yellow/green wire, but where are the three locations specifically? I was planning to make the cut at the radio harness.

That's the easiest place to catch it....

It is in the driver door sill wire harness as well, which is easier to get to, but harder to find the exact wire (because there are a few yellow/green, like for the fuel pump)

if you choose the door sill.. make sure you have a volt meter handy to make sure that you have the correct wire, which with the radio off shows 0 volts, with the radio on shows 12 volts.. and MAKE SURE you aren't using the key to turn the radio on/off (use's it power knob/switch/button), because otherwise the fuel pump wire will display the same behavior
I'm planning on doing this as well. I did this on my other deck which was easier since it has a labeled wire harness.

Do you know which wire coming off the back of the factory deck controls the antenna?
__________________
stealthpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2009, 10:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Real Name: Stephen
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Model: SSBP GSR
Year: 1999
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Articles: 75
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

Same color as we've been talking about

Yellow with a Green stripe

http://www.team-integra.net/sections...p?ArticleID=74
MorningZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2014, 06:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MorningZ View Post
Same color as we've been talking about

Yellow with a Green stripe

Power Antenna Override - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
Going to resurrect this old thread

If I want to control the height of the antenna like you would use a potentiometer to control motor speed or volume, is it possible to do this with the switch method?

If this is the wiring:

Bk = ground
Wh/Rd = +12 constant
Yel/Grn = +12 when radio is on, 0 when off.



I don't want the antenna fully up or down, just a reasonable height which I can adjust at any time...can this be done with a simple on/off switch because when radio is off it will come down unless you cut the 12v constant altogether.

Can remember the name of the switch but it stays in the middle and you can move it up and down and it will return to center when releases (like a joystick), can that switch be used?

Cheers
theteacher is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2014, 10:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Real Name: Stephen
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Model: SSBP GSR
Year: 1999
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Articles: 75
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

No, you won't be able to do that... it's simply "12v up", "remove 12v down"... there is nothing accomplished by varying the voltage
MorningZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.