Team Integra Forums banner

1992 Acura Integra NO SPARK!

61K views 120 replies 16 participants last post by  Michael-90 
#1 ·
Hey there!
I'm really hoping that I can find some help here.
I just bought a 1992 Acura Integra, 1.8L 4cyl, 5 speed manual.
I'm no mechanic, I know a couple basics and a few internal things about vehicle, but with it being Hondas DOHC engine, I'm fairly confused.

While I was driving it home 2 nights ago, the car just died, all the dash lights came on, and I was unable to start it for about 30 minutes. I then turned it over, and it fired up just fine. I drove it about 50km to my parents house and left it over night.
Yesterday, I drove the car around with no issues until halfway through the day when I stopped at a friends place to say bye as I was going to leave town and go home. I left the car idling for about 5 minutes, came outside, and it was dead, wouldn't start, and I'm now stuck away from home and I work in 2 days...

There is power to the ignitor coil, but no spark to the plugs...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a million!
Brad.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
If you're confident it's not making it out of the distributor take a look at the underside of cap and rotor for wear. It can also be difficult to check for spark at the plug wire make sure you're shorting it out correctly with a screwdriver to ground or with the plug in the wire then to ground. Always attempt a good ground doing this as you can kill your coil if not done right. I recommend going to the parts store and buying a cheap tester for this, it hooks to the plug wire and either lights a bulb or shows a spark.

There are several threads here for this problem also.

Advanced Ignition Troubleshooting - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team Integra is a forum dedicated to Acura Integra enthusiasts. Join our forums to meet other integra owners and see pictures of their modified Acuras. - Search Results for no spark