alot of Carbon coming out my exhaust? - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2003, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Butler, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'm putting off alot of carbon through my exhaust. Is there anything I can check to figure out why?
Nitr01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2003, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snozzberry, VA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 4
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Default

read your plugs. you might be running rich. also how was your timing? and did you clean your injectors while you had your head off?
__________________
**Disclaimer** I offer no explicit or implicit warranty. What you do based on the information I provide is YOUR responsibility. If your car blows up... not my problem. "One test is worth a thousand expert opinions" -Smokey Yunick "Reading truly is the lost art" -TEGGSRB18C1
Jacksont001 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2003, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lanham, MD
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Check anything to do with the fuel system
__________________
Say hello to ASIMO
IntegU is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2003, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 03 TL-TypeS, NY
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 2
Feedback Score: 57 reviews
Default

I would also suggest adding some Regane Fuel system cleaner or, Chevron w/Techron fuel system cleaner. They both work very well.
Furious05 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2003, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Butler, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I had the fuel injectors cleaned by the local Honda garage when they were off and also the rail. I set the timing after I did the valve lash.
Nitr01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2003, 04:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snozzberry, VA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 4
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Default

plug wires, distributor, fuel pressure regulator...
How do your plugs look?
Jacksont001 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2003, 05:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Butler, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Sorry about the extra post. I'll check my plugs and get back to you.
Nitr01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2003, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snozzberry, VA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 4
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Default

Josh, you seriously have a problem with your fuel system, I'm not trying to jerk you around. since you can't drive over to my house I can't guess-timate your problem. I want to help you out okay? the plugs will be a tell tale sign if it is all the cylinders or just one. that will allow us to cut the troubleshooting in half. we refer to that as "half-stepping" a fault.
Jacksont001 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2003, 01:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on the streets,
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

how about tryin an 02 or make sure your coolant temp sensor wiring isn't all crusty b/c any extra resistance will trick your car into thinkin its cooler therefore addin more fuel i've seen that a few times on bseries eng.'s b/c of the location of the CTS.
__________________
vid
1sickLS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2003, 01:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cleve, OH
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 18 reviews
Default

how is your idle? Mine was high when I had a carbon problem... the problem was bad ecu wiring.
__________________
MyCarDomain All my cars- past and present
meconfu5ed is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2003, 09:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Butler, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Everything about my car is fine. It idles good runs great and is really quiet. I still haven't had a chance to pull out the plugs but I'll do it this weekend.
Nitr01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2003, 09:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snozzberry, VA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 4
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Default

It only takes a few minutes man!
Jacksont001 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2003, 12:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Butler, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

When you have the tools it takes only a few minutes I have to go to my dads house. I'll find out this weekend.
Nitr01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2003, 10:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Butler, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I took out the plugs and there was oil on 2 and 4. I was also down a half a quart of oil. It never used oil before the valve job. But I also switched to synthetic at the same time. What next??? It blows smoke at high rev
Nitr01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.