code 7 after new tps sensor - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2008, 09:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , AZ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Ok, so occasionally my check engine light would come on and show code 7. (throttle angle). So I figured it was the tps, and ordered a new bloxracing tps off of ebay. After installing the new tps the code is now constant instead of occasional. Any ideas why this is happening?
HH60gunner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2008, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
integradude18's Avatar
 
Real Name: Sami
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Advancing, AL
Model: GSR 4dr :)
Year: 1997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

installed wrong maybe, i just installed my blox tps sensor and it works like a charm. so i guess maybe installed wrong or tps is not ur problem or maybe a faulty blox tps sensor.
__________________

integradude18 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2008, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Real Name: Casey
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: The 'L' train
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
Default

Make sure your contacts are good on the plug.

Make sure you installed it correctly.

Make sure you calibrated it correctly.
MeltMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2008, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

yeah maybe you pluged it in incorrectly. i recently got a new onmi tps, and its working great.
tangINHISgsr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2008, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dyingwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ape Latexing, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 33 reviews
Default

It must be calibrated as Casey pointed out.

Backprobe the TPS (middle wire) with the ignition oN. The ECU wants to see between .4V and .5V for the CEL to shut off. Loosen the two screws on either side of the TPS plugs and adjust it until the closed voltage is between those two values. Next check that WOT have about 5V. Tighten it down and reset the CEL.....all done.
__________________
Racing is the process of turning money into noise
dyingwish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2008, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , AZ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

So if adjusting the screws changes the voltage output...... wouldn't tightening them back down after you got the right voltage just throw it off again? Also what is the correct way to reset the computer on a 91 integra? If I unpulg the battery on it for awhile will it reset?
HH60gunner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2008, 02:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dyingwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ape Latexing, PA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 33 reviews
Default

NO. You loosen the screws and turn the whole thing, you'll notice that the holes in the sensor that the screws go through are elliptical. You should have about 20 degree of movement. Find the exact position where it fall between the values I posted, clear the code, and that is it.
dyingwish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.