Team Integra Forums banner

Integra dc2 engine swap with Prelude as Donor

1K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  50psiboostintegra 
#1 ·
Hello everyone,

I just turned 18 and I am looking to buying my first car I currently have 7.5k AUD saved up but I wanted to start with a project car, I have got a uncle who is a mechanic and has restored and rebuilt several cars. There are several Integra Dc2 gsi for about $ 1000 to 1500 which have lots of km's but I want to swap the engine anyways, my main goal is to reach 220hp n/a and later boost it to 270 ~ 280whp. I want to buy a donor Prelude VTIR and swap the engine.
Hence I wanted to clarify would this be enough and would it work :

Car- 1994 Integra Dc2 $ 1000
Donor car- Prelude $ 1500
Conversion kit with engine mounts- $ 300
Wheels - 650
Seats- 400
Engineering certificate for engine swap- $ 600
JDM front end- $ 1000
Other bits ie transmission and other costs- $ 1500
Roll cage- $ 800

Please be kind i am a noob and new to cars so guide me :biggrin: :driving: :popcorn:

See less See more
#2 ·
Instead of swapping over to the Prelude motor why not build the Integra motor? With some upgraded internals and a VTEC head your goals can be met without the confusion of swapping motors. You will also have a freshly rebuilt motor compared to another used one with a ton of miles on it.

If your goal is only 270-280 when boosted you dont really need to do much to the motor to meet that goal.

#5 ·