Tachometer not working - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-10-2013, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 76
Model: GSR
Year: 1998
Garage
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Tachometer not working

Last night my tach was working fine and has been since I bought the car on Monday. Today I started driving and realized it wasn't working at all! It just sits at 0 and doesn't move. Speedometer works and everything else as well. I'm doing just a bit of research and it seems like it could be the distributor? But if that was the case, would it still start and drive normally without any hesitations or misfires or other problems? Anyone know? And any recommendations on where to get a new one if it is the distributor, because Autozone is anywhere from $220-420.
ete203 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-11-2013, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
IndyGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NAPTOWN, IN
Posts: 443
Model: GSR
Year: 1999
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
According to a wiring diagram I found, the tachometer gets an independent signal from the ignition control module inside the distributor via a blue wire. I would start by checking the wiring and the connector at the distributor.

ASE Certified Technician


HONDA
- The Power of Dreams
IndyGSR is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-11-2013, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 76
Model: GSR
Year: 1998
Garage
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I went out today and check the wires and disconnected them and reconnected them then started her up, and the tach was working! Hopefully it will continue to work for a long time.
ete203 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-12-2013, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
IndyGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NAPTOWN, IN
Posts: 443
Model: GSR
Year: 1999
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Glad you got it fixed. Sometimes terminals inside connectors can corrode, even though they are supposed to be "weather proof". If you want, you can pack some dielectric grease inside the connector and that will help prevent future corrosion.
IndyGSR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome