loose battery terminals - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 07:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 1,396
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
loose battery terminals

anyone have a solution for loose battery terminal? i tightened as far as i could before it stripped and i can pull it off with my hand -.-

what material do i use if i were to fill that space in? copper?
20LS01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 07:28 PM
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 42,799
Articles: 75
Garage
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
anything thin and metallic is good enough to jam in there...

but the best fix is new terminals instead of trying to hack up the old ones to work

.




- Running Log, the trials and tribulations of building a car

echlonwarrior: "Hondabond saves lives"
K2sInteg98: "the best thing to do is keep spending and not keep count....lol"
MorningZ is online now  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: statesville, nc
Posts: 99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
get a penny and smash it with a hammer to get it more flat "l". then hit the top to give it a curve ")" close to your terminal. that penny will fill in the gap. works great with mine loose terminal issue.
shoua1 is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 08:00 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 25
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just buy a new terminal from your local auto parts store that is smaller. They're only 2-3 dollars
sumfilipinodude is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
johnnymass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 2,171
Garage
Feedback Score: 23 reviews
I live in redneckville and Ive seen more than my share of nails between terminals and posts. It works but like others have said, replacing the terminals is the best way to do
johnnymass is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: delray bch, FL
Posts: 531
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
toolless terminals are great i had this prob before and i got these for 5 bux just cut off old ones and reconnect the wires and thats it ......easy fix ........replacing is best its a cheap piece of mind
optimalbeing is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
racepauly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: So-Cal, CA
Posts: 379
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I had this same problem and I used a screw for a few but once my battery needed replaced I bought new terminals. I upgrades to Marine grade terminals since I have my fogs and stereo equipment and alarm all piggy backing on it. Now it works and looks great .

racepauly is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 1,396
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
thanks for the suggestions. i actually just squeezed the terminals slightly so it wasnt so round. now its on real tight but it might round itself back with some time.
20LS01 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-25-2011, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Crad008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I <3 Olivia Wilde, WA
Posts: 2,110
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20LS01 View Post
thanks for the suggestions. i actually just squeezed the terminals slightly so it wasnt so round. now its on real tight but it might round itself back with some time.
that's what I did with mine, I squeezed the ends together to make an oval then hammered it on the terminal, just temporary until I could get a replacement, but it worked great
Crad008 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 03:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Pocky_Miester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE
Posts: 586
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I had this problem too but I already had some gold plated multi port terminals from another car so I said screw it and just snipped the wires and replaced the terminals. now I have major blingizzle under the hood lol.

Pocky_Miester is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , OR
Posts: 53
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had this problem too. You don't need new terminals even know they are cheap. Just take them off and take a grinder with a zip wheel and open up the gap so the bolt can squeeze it more. Done.
sams96integra is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
FTFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hernando, MS
Posts: 148
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cotter pin ftw lol yea mine is doing the same thing...
FTFlame is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
91_LS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Carson, NV
Posts: 5,003
Articles: 1
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Less then 6 bucks for new ones.
91_LS is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
johnnymass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 2,171
Garage
Feedback Score: 23 reviews
Exactly. The reason you can't tighten anymore is because the metal stretched. Grinding a gap so you can tighten it more just means you're gunna stretch the metal further and possibly break the terminal. For the time you spent grinding down the terminal you could've put new ones on. Just my .02
johnnymass is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome