radiator hose are both hard?? - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2009, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: jer z, NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Alright me and my cousin were driving on his 95 ls when we got home to check something out he grabed both of the radiator hoses and they were both pretty hard i dont recall if its normal if anyone can help out with this it would be great thanks
__________________
teggy9093 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-14-2009, 01:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rocket Ranch, CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

They should be pretty soft. Especially if they're hot. You should be able to take the radiator cap off (when the car's cold) and be able to squeeze the lines and watch the level of the water come up. It's possible tha the hoses are very old and dried out.

If that 's the case, they're probably ready to crack and split open and should be replaced soon.
__________________
On any given raceday, more mazdas get in the way of hondas than any other car out there. [URL=http://racing.honda.com/hpd/] Honda Performance Division Prima Racing; Little guys doin' big things "You never press the gas pedal until you know you never have to take it off." --Jackie Stewart"
RacerZook is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: jer z, NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

the two hoses are no more than 3 months old also the top one gets extremely hot before the bottom one
teggy9093 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, ON
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Articles: 11
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

is normal that the top hose is hot, and the bottom one is cold.

unless you have the samco radiator hose, otherwise i don't see why they would be hard, even the samco hoses are squeezable... are you sure you got the right hose? also are you using 1.1 bar OEM rad cap?
__________________
[b]- WTB G2 hood cable, G3 billet ps, alt, & ac pulley - My running log - My FS thread: NGK, Hub ring, G2 Neuspeed 4pts, etc.
codenamezero is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: jer z, NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

we have the oem replacement hoses. the radiator cap is a 1.1 cap..we just turned the car on without the cap on and the hoses were blazing hot but squeesable once we put the cap back on they became rock hard..im guessing the cap went bad..??? i tried opening the valve to let any air out of the system and nothing its still the same
teggy9093 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, ON
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Articles: 11
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

how old is your rad cap? it could be the cap is old and is causing more pressure than it suppose to... how old is your radiator? could be old as well and start to clog but not enough to cause overheat.
codenamezero is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default

hard hoses can be a sign of the cylinder pressure entering the cooling system because of head gasket or cracks.

The hoses are suppose to get hard as the engine reaches operating temp but you should be able to squeeze them especially after a short drive where the car reached operating temp.

you know you have a cooling system failure when the hoses are hard before you reached operating temp
kinsinger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default

run your car with the rad cap off. if you see bubbles come up throught the neck, you know you have a problem
kinsinger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: jer z, NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

the radiator is as old as the hoses 2months old its an aftermarket aluminum radiator by the way...the only thing we did was replace the cap with another one that i had in my shed and now the hoses are soft to squeeze after a long drive not like before
teggy9093 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2010, 10:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: , FL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

Bringing this thread back im having te same problem as the OP. My radiator hoses get rock hard and im not blowing smoke. My car has been overhneating frequently but i just drove it for 45 min and it was fine. Are these signs of a blown head gasket?
Wyatt87 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2010, 10:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
Site Founder/Administrator
 
MorningZ's Avatar
 
Real Name: Stephen
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Florida
Model: SSBP GSR
Year: 1999
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Articles: 75
Feedback Score: 31 reviews
Default

What are some details of your cooling system?

Ever replace the radiator (and when)? hoses? thermo? water pump?
__________________
.



- Running Log, the trials and tribulations of building a car

echlonwarrior: "Hondabond saves lives"
K2sInteg98: "the best thing to do is keep spending and not keep count....lol"
sgtmillhouse648: "VTAKS- just like boost with none of the lag...and none of the torque...and none of the boost"
MorningZ is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2010, 10:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: , FL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

Okay thanks for asking. I just replaced the radiator with an aluminum one a few days ago and i have an automatic. This problem was there before i replaced the radiator. I dont have any leaks visually but i think im losing coolant somehow.
I was at work as food delivery i noticed the needle moved a little more than usual. Sometimes before if i would give it gas i would noticed that helped the temp gauge go down, but this time the gauge kept climbing and i had deliveries so i ran back to work then home. Yesterday if i turned the car on and let it idle it would keep overheating but today i drove it and im letting it idle but now it doesnt overheat, but my hoses are still really hard.
Wyatt87 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2010, 11:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, ON
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Articles: 11
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

When did you replace your thermostat? Replace it if you haven't yet, most likely the problem...
codenamezero is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2010, 11:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: , FL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

im going to try and replace the thermostat. I know we have an article on here but can i replace the thermostat without bleeding the system?
Wyatt87 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.