Automatic transmission shift solenoids - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2007, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Currently I drive a 95 LS Auto. It slips and starting to grind at 3rd gear. Like you can actually hears the grinding noise. Same noise as a manual tranny grinding on a gear.

This car is my beater I want to replace it with a different automatic that I can have more fun with it like I want the umph instead of the awwww. Is it possible for me to install in a automatic that has 4-shift solenoid rather than installing one that has 2-shift solenoids.

I use to have a 90 LS Auto. I notice the difference from the two. The 90 LS Auto has the 4-shift solenoid and Sport buttons. While the 95 LS Auto only 2-shift solenoid and no Sport buttons.
earlyp3rs0n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-26-2007, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Real Name: Casey
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: The 'L' train
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
Default

Um, not sure what you're talking about actually...

The G3 auto has 4 solenoids, 2 on top and 2 on lower front under a cover...
MeltMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2007, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: LI, NY
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

What are sport buttons? All automatic integra trannies are the same so your stuck with what u got
supersilverteg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2007, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeltMan on Sep/26/07
Um, not sure what you're talking about actually...

The G3 auto has 4 solenoids, 2 on top and 2 on lower front under a cover...
Ummmmm... No mine has just only 2. 98's has 4 but no sport buttons.
earlyp3rs0n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2007, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Real Name: Casey
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: The 'L' train
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
Default

4 solenoids, straight out of the 94 helms.


No you cant put a 90 teg's auto trans on your car.

No you cant put a 98 teg's auto trans on your car.
MeltMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2007, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Smog Tech, CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 4
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

You can try to replace it with a new one. make sure you do a drain and refill on the tranny when you put in a new one. Also, make sure there is a new gasket as well for it.
__________________
Welcome, FlatRate.
You last visited: 12-01-2011 at 02:28 PM
Private Messages: Unread 0, Total 611 (total 250 allowed.)
Your PM box is 244% full.

Its been forever since I've been on here! And don't PM me as I intend to keep my box full so I don't get any annoying PM's!
FlatRate is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2007, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeltMan on Sep/28/07
4 solenoids, straight out of the 94 helms.


No you cant put a 90 teg's auto trans on your car.

No you cant put a 98 teg's auto trans on your car.
People can put in a DA manual tranny into a DC. Why not a DA auto tranny into a DC?
earlyp3rs0n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2007, 12:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
MeltMan's Avatar
 
Real Name: Casey
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: The 'L' train
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
Default

I guess you're not going to quit asking until I lay it out for you.

Yes you CAN put a DA auto into a DC. Sure, it will bolt to the engine.

The mounts wont fit, so I suppose you *could* have custom mounts fabricated to accommodate.

The DA you're talking about is OBD0, therefore you would need to swap the entire wiring harness and electronics from the DA into the DC so that the ecu could properly talk to that generation's auto transmission controller. After that is all said and done you'll realize that all of the other electronics in the DC that are dependent on the ECU wont work, because the OBD0 ecu doesnt talk to them correctly.

Alternatively, you *could* put in an auto trans from a 92-93 DA which is OBD1. You'd still need to make the wiring work and get the auto transmission controller as well (they are different). Again, the mounts wont fit correctly and you'll have to custom fab some up. You may need the ecu from the 92-93 of the same model (LS/GS/RS)

Or, you *could* go drive a properly functioning auto trans in a G3 and see if it shifts like the older generation did.


There, you *could* but it would be so cost/labor intensive that it would be a pointless exercise in futility.
MeltMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2007, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeltMan on Oct/05/07
I guess you're not going to quit asking until I lay it out for you.

Yes you CAN put a DA auto into a DC. Sure, it will bolt to the engine.

The mounts wont fit, so I suppose you *could* have custom mounts fabricated to accommodate.

The DA you're talking about is OBD0, therefore you would need to swap the entire wiring harness and electronics from the DA into the DC so that the ecu could properly talk to that generation's auto transmission controller. After that is all said and done you'll realize that all of the other electronics in the DC that are dependent on the ECU wont work, because the OBD0 ecu doesnt talk to them correctly.

Alternatively, you *could* put in an auto trans from a 92-93 DA which is OBD1. You'd still need to make the wiring work and get the auto transmission controller as well (they are different). Again, the mounts wont fit correctly and you'll have to custom fab some up. You may need the ecu from the 92-93 of the same model (LS/GS/RS)

Or, you *could* go drive a properly functioning auto trans in a G3 and see if it shifts like the older generation did.


There, you *could* but it would be so cost/labor intensive that it would be a pointless exercise in futility.
Have you or know somebody that has tried this? The existing transmission mount should be okay.

When I was observing the JDM version of a Integra, Civic, and Prelude that has DOHC VTEC engine that comes in automatic transmission with shift buttons. Can possibly use parts off of that.

Cost and labor wouldn't be that intensive if someone is a engineer.
earlyp3rs0n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.