How set ignition timing on my 94 gsr - Team Integra Forums - Team Integra

Team-Integra.net is the premier Acura Integra Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2007, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I just got the car and I am not familiar with these engines. I checked the timing and it was really retarded so I read the article on advancing the timing. But the problem I have is I have no more adjustment left at the distributor and its still not in the correct range. I estimate it is at around 11 BTDC.

Now from what I gather that process is either for the fine tuning of the ignition timing or bypass of the computer's settings.

How is the ignition timing initially set?

Thanks
Adam
akreider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2007, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: somewhere in, NY
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 3
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akreider
I am pretty sure I found the answer to my question. To adjust the timing more I have to remove the distributor cap and then remove the screw holding the rotor and adjust that. And then go back and fine tune adjust it by rotating the distributor.

Does this sound correct or am I missing something?

Thanks
Adam
Adam, no need to start a new thread, just update the ones you have, also, it takes some time to get the threads approved so please just be patient.
__________________
DeadLock23 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2007, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

Are you sure the ECU is jumped out correctly? The ECU will try and maintain the correct timing which may keep you from reaching your goal.
beanMosheen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2007, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
CJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Around, GA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Articles: 1
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Default

Do the steps in this article before checking timing.

Also wait until the car is warmed up.
__________________
[RED][SIZE=3]Integraless[/FONT][/FONT]
CJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2007, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

there should be a jumper connector under the trim on the right side of your glove box(should be a blueish color). you need to jump the 2 pin harness with a paper clip or the honda connector. that will set your ecu into base timing mode(abd will show any DTC's that you may have. which will enable you to set timing correctly. if your dist. is fully advanced i recommend immediately moving it back due to the fact that you will be running way too advanced, could cause serious engine damage. let the car warm as stated before for best results. the ignition specs are 16deg. +or- 2deg BTDC...
__________________
I
WhtDC4turbo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2007, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I followed the steps in the article, jumped the 2 pin harness with a wire and I also had my car warmed up when I checked it.

Also I forget to mention that as the car warms up when driving, it the response and power drop as to compared to when it is cold. That is one of the reasons that led me to check the timing.

Thanks
Adam

Oh sorry about the extra post I knew I wasnt going to be on for a little bit and just wanted to update the post with more information. Its always easier to answer a question with a throrough description.
akreider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2007, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

Your timing belt may be off a tooth. Pop the valve cover off and check the cam gears in relation to the crank.
beanMosheen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2007, 08:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin/Houston, TX
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 21 reviews
Default

As bean said..check the timing marks on the cam gears and the crank pully. Make sure all of the marks line up otherwise it won't matter what you do.
__________________
www.havokgroup.com phong@havokgroup.com aim: havokgroupdotcom
havokgroup.com is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2007, 02:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , NJ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Ok I will go out and check that today and let you know how I make out. Thanks for your help.

Adam
akreider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2007, 12:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , FL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

i set my ignition timing on my 94 gsr to 20deg about a year ago. im reading this now and see about jumping the ecu b4 doing the timing. i checked my timing at it is still at 20deg. did i really need to jump the ecu?
eddienitrous is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2007, 02:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fresno, CA
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

yes
__________________
DC Squad# 606
Rickdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Integra Forums - Team Integra forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.